Summit Ski Team hands out awards |

Summit Ski Team hands out awards


The Summit Ski Team gathers for a team photo earlier this season. Photo courtesy of Summit Ski Team

Submitted by Summit Ski Team

Summit Ski Team (SST) athletes were eager to find out who would be awarded this season’s recognition awards at annual banquet.

This event takes place annually and this season was held at the Grand Summit Hotel Ballroom at the base of the Canyons Ski Resort. The SST banquet took place on Sunday, April 27, at 5 p.m.

SST athletes enjoyed listening to an end-of-season wrap-up from the director, Matt Brown, addressing the community and team with season-long achievements, followed by a quick word from Jim Fitlow, vice president of the SST board of directors.

Attendees also enjoyed a movie/picture collage of each team before the awards got underway.

"The Summit Ski Team banquet is a time to celebrate the success, and improvements of all Summit Ski Team racers and community members," Brown said. "This year’s banquet at the Canyons Grand Summit Hotel had over 250 people in attendance. All our athletes improved immensely throughout the season and we recognized each athlete for their hard work."

Recommended Stories For You

Some awards received included:

Sydney Weaver Alpine comp top performer

Janell Donegan Alpine comp hard charger

Jacob Stone Alpine comp most improved

Zach Brown Alpine comp sportsmanship

Annabel Jorgensen Alpine comp sportsmanship

Tyler Young Comp top performer

Annika Drivdahl Comp top performer

Spencer McLaughlin Comp hard charger

Emmerson Ryan Comp hard charger

Cameron Stevens Comp hard charger

Tommy Fendler Comp most improved

Caroline Haaijer Comp most improved

Siana Moffat Comp sportsmanship

Jake Stocker Comp sportsmanship

Carly McAleer Comp development hard charger

Max O’Reilly Comp development hard charger

Denali Fitlow Comp development most improved

Cameron McLaughlin Comp development most improved

Shelby Oraskovich Comp development sportsmanship

Erik Stocker Comp development sportsmanship

Jacob Butler, Annika Drivdahl, Maggie Fogarty, Damian Jones, Emmy Kanarowski, Jack Stoker, T.J. Weaver, Andrew White and Tyler Young were also honored with the Five Year Award for being with the Summit Ski Team for five years.

Additionally, all athletes were awarded with personalized recognition for their achievements. Mike Goar, Canyons Resort general manager, received the SST Community Award for ongoing support to the Summit Ski Team. Sherry Weaver, SST board member, received the SST Service Award and Dean Heavrin, an SST parent, received the SST Volunteer of the Year Award.

The Summit Ski Team is a family oriented ski club directed to providing a safe, fun and motivating environment for area youths learning to ski and race. Participants develop a foundation for lifelong skiing enjoyment through all-mountain skiing, professional coaching, race training, competition and team camaraderie.

Go back to article