ASCAP announces 2020 Music Cafe lineup |

ASCAP announces 2020 Music Cafe lineup

Submitted by ASCAP
Cy Young Award-winning pitcher-turned-musician Barry Zito will be among the musicians who will perform at the 2020 ASCAP Music Cafe during the Sundance Film Festival.
Courtesy of ASCAP

What: ASCAP Music Cafe at the Sundance Film Festival

When: Jan. 24-31

Where: 751 Main St.

Cost: Free to Sundance Film Festival credential holders ages 21 and older


ASCAP (The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) announces an eclectic music lineup for its 22nd Annual Sundance ASCAP Music Café, taking place Jan. 24-31 at 751 Main St. during the acclaimed Sundance Film Festival.

Beginning at 2 p.m. each day, the café will feature a dynamic mix of both established and emerging songwriters and artists such as Matt Berninger (of The National), Derek Smalls (formerly of the band formerly known as Spinal Tap), the bird and the bee, Barry Zito, Aaron Lee Tasjan, Matthew Koma (of Winnetka Bowling League) and ZZ Ward.

“For 22 years, Sundance ASCAP Music Café has shined a spotlight on the exquisite alchemy of sound and vision embodied by the art of filmmaking,” said Loretta Muñoz, ASCAP Assistant Vice President, Membership. “We are continuing the tradition in 2020 with eight days of musical performances by extraordinary artists throughout the Festival. You will hear unique sets from artists you already know and love, and you’re guaranteed to find some new loves too.”

Other featured performers at the 2020 Sundance ASCAP Music Café include: Alex Lilly, Colter Wall, Fox Wilde, James Bourne, Jamie Drake, Joe Robinson, Joseph Arthur, LÉON, Lizbeth Román, Rain Phoenix, Ron Artis II, Ruen Brothers, Samantha Sidley, Stephen Kellogg, Steven Dayvid McKellar (of Civil Twilight) and NewSong Music Competition winner Jobi Riccio.

The Sundance ASCAP Music Café takes place at 751 Main Street, and is open to all Festival credential holders, ages 21 and older.

For the latest information on ASCAP events at the Sundance Film Festival, as well as on-site coverage, follow ASCAP on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, and through the event hashtag, #ASCAPMusicCafe.

In addition to the Music Cafe, ASCAPw will host the ASCAP Composer-Filmmaker Cocktail Party on Monday, Jan. 7.

This is an invite-only, after-show celebration held at the Sundance ASCAP Music Café. The private event is for festival filmmakers, ASCAP film composers, Sundance ASCAP Music Café artists and music supervisors.

Festival filmmakers and film composers who are interested in attending may contact for further details.

This year’s Sundance Film Festival includes many films and audio/visual projects that prominently feature the music of ASCAP’s composer and songwriter members.

ASCAP composers and foreign affiliates who have scored Festival films and New Frontier projects this year include:

Hans Zimmer (“Rebuilding Paradise”), John Debney (“Come Away”), Pinar Toprak (“McMillions”), Bear McCreary (“Crip Camp”), John Paesano (“Tesla”), St. Vincent (“The Nowhere Inn”), Dan Romer (“Wendy”), Alex Somers (“Miss Americana,” “The Charm City Kings”), Ty Segall (“Whirlybird”), Richard Reed Parry (“The Nest”), Alex Weston (“Wander Darkly”), Hauschka (“Downhill,” “The Perfect Candidate”), Anne Nikitin (“Lost Girls”), Jay Wadley (“I Carry You With Me”), Nico Muhly (“Worth”), Garth Stevenson (“Little Chief”), Joseph Arthur (“Okavango: River of Dreams”), Amanda Jones (“Baldwin Beauty”), Benjamin Woodgates (“Dream Horse”), Katya Mihailova (“Code for Bias”), Antonio Pinto (“Nine Days”), Elegant Too (“Scare Me”), Peter Albrechtsen (“The Killing of Two Lovers”), Bob Allaire (“Beast Beast” – addtl music), Olivier Alary (“Softie”), Kristian Eidnes Andersen (“The Charter”), Roque Baños (“His House”), Amine Bouhafa (“So what if the goats die”), Courtney Bryan (“The 40-Year Old Version”), Robin Coudert (“Run Sweetheart Run”), Jason Martin Castillo (“Place”), Florencia Di Concilio (“Influence”), Nainita Desai (“Reason I Jump”), Karim Sebastian Elias (“Saudi Runaway”), Ludovico Einaudi (“The Father”), Fabrice Faltraue (“Inès”), Thomas Gallet (“My Juke-Box”), Adam Gunther (“Three Deaths”), Neil Haverty (“Hot Flash”), Jon Hegel (“Leap of Faith: William Friedkin on the Exorcist”), Uno Helmersson (“The Painter and the Thief”), Dickon Hinchliffe (“Into the Deep”), Martin Horntveth (“Do Not Split,” “The Farce”), Josh Kaufman (“We Are Freestyle Love Supreme”), Michael Krassner (“The Evening Hour”), Fabrice Lecomte (“Sylvie’s Love”), Lucas Lechowski (“Benevolent Ba”), Nascuy Linares (“Luxor,” “Once Upon a Time in Venezuela”), Juan Luqui (“The Fight”), Michelle Miles (“how did we get here?”), Jon Natchez (“The Climb”), James Newberry (“Buck”), Andrew Orkin (“Save Yourselves!”), Owen Pallett (“Spaceship Earth”), Adam Peters (“The Dissident”), Mark Phillips (“Betye Saar: Taking Care of Business”) Nathan Prillaman (“Dirty”), Coco Reilly (“The Starr Sisters”), Thomas Roussel (“Jumbo”), Colin Sigor (“Broken Orchestra”), Eddie Simonsen (“Chemo Brain”), Josiah Steinbrick (“Horse Girl”), Jeremy Turner (“Natalie Wood: What Remains Behind”), Vincent van Warmerdam (“Mole Agent”), Zsuzsanna Varkonyi (“Epicentro”), Fernando Velázquez (“Sergio”) and Jim Williams (“Possessor”).

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP’s mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world’s best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business – from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With more than 735,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.

To view a complete schedule of performances and hear the music of Café artists, visit

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User