Slamdance announces awards |

Slamdance announces awards

Submitted by Slamdance

The 20th Annual Slamdance Film Festival has announced the feature film and short film recipients of this year’s awards in the Audience, Jury, and Sponsored Award Categories. The award winners were announced at the annual Closing Night Awards Ceremony at the Treasure Mountain Inn.

The feature competition films in the Documentary and Narrative Programs are limited to first-time filmmakers working with production budgets of less than $1 million.


Audience Award for Documentary Feature: "Kidnapped for Christ," dir. by Kate S. Logan. American teenagers are taken from their homes in the middle of the night and shipped to an Evangelical reform school in The Dominican Republic.

Audience Award for Narrative Feature: "Copenhagen," dir. by Mark Raso. After weeks of traveling through Europe, the immature William finds himself in Copenhagen, the place of his father’s birth where he befriends the youthful Effy.


Recommended Stories For You

Slamdance Narrative Jury Prizes were selected by the esteemed panel of industry members Tom Hall, Katie Mustard, and Matt Harrison.

Jury Award for Narrative Feature: "Rezeta," dir. by Fernando Frias De La Parra. Rezeta, a 21-year-old model born in Kosovo, arrives in Mexico City after living off of her beauty in many different countries.

Jury Special Mention for Original Vision: "I Play With the Phrase Each Other," dir. by Jay Alvarez. The first feature film composed entirely of cell phone calls. Jake, a young neurotic, is persuaded to leave his small home town and move to the city to live with Sean, a fanatical poet who survives by swindling inexperienced Craigslist customers.


Documentary Jury Prizes were selected by the esteemed panel of industry members Tim League, Monteith McCollum, and Herb Stratford.

Jury Award for Documentary Feature: "Elliot," dir. by Matthew Bauckman and Jaret Belliveau. The bizarre story of Elliot "White Lightning" Scott, who plans on becoming Canada’s first action hero with his low-budget karate epic, Blood Fight.

Jury Special Mention for Most Compelling Personal Journey: "Huntington’s Dance," dir. by Chris Furbee. The story of one man’s reckoning with his family’s brutal, hereditary disease: Huntington’s Disease.

Jury Award for Documentary Short: "Glass Eyes of Locust Bayou," dir. by Simon Mercer. Arkansas-based film-maker Phil Chambliss documents rural life through a blurred and tangled haze; his films straddle fact and fiction, good and evil, documenting a dark and strange version of Americana.

Jury Special Mention for Cinematography in a Documentary Short: "White Earth," dir. by J. Christian Jensen. A tale of three children and an immigrant mother who brave a cruel winter and explore themes of innocence, home and the American Dream.


The following Short Film Jury Prizes were selected by the esteemed panel of industry members Andrew Edison, Lise Raven, and David Greenspan.

"Daybreak," dir. by Ian Lagarde. Growing tension in a group of friends leads to quiet violence and destruction as the children enter adolescence.

Jury Special Mention for Narrative Short: "The Way," dir. by Max Ksjonda. A neglected teenager makes a bet with his friends that leads him on a dangerous trip to another city.

Jury Award for Animation Short: "The Path of Wind," dir. by Kim Ju-im. A human office chair unravels its legs and goes on a wildly imaginative psychedelic vision quest filled with both terror and beauty, leading to transformation into a musical instrument of liberation.

The following Short Film Jury Prizes were selected by the esteemed panel of industry members Skizz Cyzyk, Jacques Thelemaque, and Kendall & Joey Shanks.

Jury Award for Experimental Short: "Real Ethereal," dir. by Evan Mann. An otherworldly journey through a fantastical metaphysical realm saturated with mystery and transition.

Jury Award for Anarchy Short: "Wawd Ahp," dir. by Steve Girard. A man raps, cuts his head off, and has sex with it. There is also a cartoon.


Spirit of Slamdance Award: THE GREGGS, dir. by Bruce Bundy, Nigel DeFriez, Rob Malone, Kira Pearson, Alex Mechanik, Jessie Levandov, Jonathan Rosenblit. The esoteric and secluded group responsible for the creation of the world’s standardized tests must find a way to adapt when their way of life is threatened by dissent within their ranks.

Blackmagic Design Cinematography Award: "Sometimes I Dream I’m Flying," dir. by Aneta Popiel-Machnicka. Weronika is a young, outstandingly talented dancer. Since she was ten years old ballet has been her entire life, day in day out, striving for excellence.

Slamdance Trailer Competition Grand Prize, presented by MixBit: "Love Steaks," dir. by Jakob Lass. A luxury hotel. Steaks frizzle, muffintops getting massaged. Clemens (rare) joins the wellness area as a rookie. Lara (well-done) needs to assert herself in the kitchen pack.

The Slamdance Trailer Competition, presented by MixBit, offered all filmmakers accepted into the 2014 festival an opportunity to create their best trailer. Entrants’ work was presented on and ten finalists had their trailers shown during the festival. The award winner, decided by YouTube Co-Founder Chad Hurley, was granted a Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera from MixBit.

Every 2014 Slamdance feature film received a complimentary one-year Vimeo PRO account as a thanks for all of their hard work and continued creativity.

For more information, visit