Adkins swears in officials in Coalville |

Adkins swears in officials in Coalville

Patrick Parkinson, Of the Record staff

Newly elected Summit County Clerk Kent Jones wasted no time implementing changes in his department by ousting former deputy clerk Launa Blonquist.

Along with Jones, Wednesday Judge Robert Adkins swore in Scott Hogensen, the clerk’s new, appointed second in command, and other officials elected in November to oversee county government.

Jones this week was the only newly elected candidate sworn to serve.

Expertise gained by Hogensen, the clerk’s new deputy, running elections for Weber County, made him an attractive replacement for Blonquist, Jones said. Much of the county clerk’s duties involve operating elections.

Deputy clerk Jill Ovard will remain the third employee in an office where Jones says his staff is spread too thin.

Budget constraints, however, might prevent the hiring of new employees, he said.

Recommended Stories For You

"We’ll go to work now and we’ll see what we need," Jones added.

He served 10 years as a Republican county clerk before North Summit Democrat Sue Follett defeated him in 2002. Last year, Jones switched to the Democratic ticket.

After Follett was defeated last spring during a Democratic nominating convention, Democrat Cindy LoPiccolo was ousted from the race in a primary last June before Jones handily defeated Park City resident Kathy Dopp on Election Day.

Other county officials sworn in Wednesday include:

Democratic Summit County Commissioners Bob Richer and Ken Woolstenhulme

Democratic County Assessor Barbara Kresser

Republican Summit County Attorney David Brickey

Democratic County Auditor Blake Frazier

County Recorder Alan Spriggs, a Democrat

Republican Summit County Sheriff Dave Edmunds

Summit County Treasurer Glen Thompson, a Republican