Election 2007 briefs | ParkRecord.com

Election 2007 briefs


subhead: Tuesday polling places

Park City voters must head to the correct polling places to cast ballots on Tuesday, with the city being split between three voting locations.

( People who live in Old Town, Deer Valley and the small sliver of Wasatch County inside the Park City limits vote at City Hall. The neighborhoods are known as Consolidated District 1.

( Those living in Prospector, Thaynes Canyon and Sidewinder, Consolidated District 2, vote at Treasure Mountain International School.

( Consolidated District 3 residents, those living in Park Meadows, Quarry Mountain and Ranch Road South, vote at McPolin Elementary School.

Election judges at the polling locations check if people are voting in the right place.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. People must have already registered to vote to cast a ballot. The deadline for registering has passed.

Poll officials will request a voter provide proof of residency if they have not shown the identification before. The proof will also be required for people voting for the first time at a new address or if they did not show proof when they registered to vote.

Three Park City Council spots are on the ballot, and Parkites will also decide a $15 million bond meant to make Park City safer for pedestrians, bicyclists and others not driving cars. A statewide school-voucher referendum is also on the ballot.

Election officials selected bubble ballots for Tuesday, known in the industry as optical-scan ballots. Cindy LoPiccolo, City Hall’s election official, says holding an election using bubble ballots is less costly than using touch-screen machines like those used in 2006.

A touch-screen machine will be available at each polling location, though, to comply with disabled laws.

subhead: The primary results

Incumbent City Councilwoman Candy Erickson on Election Day is expected to easily win a third term on the panel, but it is difficult to gauge how the remaining five candidates will finish.

In the primary, the others who advanced to the Tuesday vote were largely stacked within a few percentage points of each other. There have not been political bombshells in the almost two months since the Sept. 11 primary, making the contest for the other two seats on the ballot a tough call.

The results of the primary were:

1. Erickson, with 24.74 percent

2. Dennis Wong, with 17.55 percent

3. Joe Kernan, with 16.17 percent

4. Liza Simpson, with 14.03 percent

5. Bruce Taylor, with 12.86 percent

6. Kacy Quinley, with 8.88 percent

7. Michael Kaplan, with 5.77 percent.

Voters shed Kaplan from the field during the primary.

Turnout in the primary was 16.06 percent.

The number of voters on Tuesday will likely be much higher than the figure in the primary, when 694 ballots were cast in Park City. There is widespread interest in the statewide school-voucher ballot measure, and many Parkites appear ready to vote on the $15 million bond meant to make the city safer for pedestrians and bicyclists.

Compiled by Jay Hamburger

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User