Incumbents coast to victory on the East Side |

Incumbents coast to victory on the East Side

by Patrick Parkinson, of the Record staff

Incumbent mayors who were re-elected Tuesday in contested races in Kamas and Coalville will help shepherd the two largest towns on the East Side of Summit County through the next four years of growth.

In Kamas Tuesday night, Mayor Lew Marchant had unofficially won his third term in office by defeating newcomer Jeff Lawrence 119 votes to 73 votes.

Incumbent Kamas City Councilpersons Diane Atkinson, who had received 154 votes, and Rodney Smith, who had received 120 votes, were each elected to another four-year term. The losing candidate in the council race, Thomas Snyder, had received 107 votes.

Meanwhile, Coalville Mayor Duane Schmidt had unofficially coasted to victory by receiving 206 votes to defeat Merlyn Johnson, who had received 91 votes. Schmidt was elected to his second term.

Coalville City Councilpersons Andrea Hewson and David Vernon, who ran unopposed, were each re-elected to a four-year term. Incumbent Coalville City Councilperson Ron Boyer, who had received 263 votes, and Christopher Brundy, who had received 187 votes, each won a two-year seat. The losing candidate in that race, Denise Smith, had received 90 votes.

Several provisional ballots had not been counted so a clerk in Coalville said those results were unofficial.

Recommended Stories For You

Oakley Mayor Blake Frazier, who ran unopposed, had received 152 votes on Election Day. The winners of two four-year terms on the Oakley City Council were Alton Frazier, who received 114 votes, and incumbent Councilman Tiny Woolstenhulme, who received 103 votes. The losing candidate in that race was Oakley City Councilman Bob Elbert, who received 84 votes.

Francis Town Councilman R. Lee Snelgove was unopposed this year in his mayoral bid and had received 227 votes to replace retiring Francis Mayor John Bergen. Francis Town Councilman Lorin Prescott ran unopposed for a two-year term and had received 227 votes.

In the race for two four-year terms on the Francis Town Council, Tal Adair had received 211 votes and H. Gio Melendez had received 142 votes to win the seats. The losing candidate in the race, Kristi Major, had received 126 votes.

Francis voters had turned down a bond proposition that would have borrowed about $639,000 to build a new town hall. About 116 people had voted for the measure and 150 people had voted against it.

Election results in Francis were still unofficial because several provisional ballots had not been counted.

In Henefer, incumbent Town Councilmen Kay Richins and Brent Ovard were unopposed in their re-election bids. Henefer Mayor Randy Ovard had received 105 votes and was re-elected to his second term.