Home made cars take to the track

Pack 3071, led by scoutmaster Eric Janes, held its annual Pinewood Derby Saturday, April 28 at St. Mary’s Catholic Church. Twenty five Cub Scouts worked with their parents for honors as the fastest, best design, best painted, most radical and most original pinewood derby cars. Sean Mellin turned in the fastest time of 2.803 seconds, qualifying him to compete against the other pack racing the same day. Danny Craig won second and Andy Briant took third place. ‘Best design’ went to Adam Herr, ‘best paint’ went to Grant Manley, ‘most radical’ went to Jacob Mullen’s car and Jake Ascherl won ‘most original’ car. Two Boy Scouts, Nate Gideon and Zack Ascherl, severed as race officials. Paul Costello was the master of ceremonies.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User