Plethora of residents come out as candidates |

Plethora of residents come out as candidates

The filing window for the November election closed Thursday evening at 5 p.m. and there was no shortage of candidates for the Summit County Council. Twelve candidates filed to run for the three seats on the ballot. Five county residents filed to run for state offices.

For County Council Seat A, currently held by Sally Elliott, Max Greenhalgh filed to run as a Republican against Democrats Sean Wharton and Roger Armstrong. Greenhalgh is the current chair of the Basin Open Space Committee who said that his planning background will help him preserve and enhance the lifestyle of Summit County residents.

Democrat Claudia McMullen is running for re-election for Council Seat B, along with Republicans Sue Pollard, Craig Eroh and Randy Favero. Russ Judd who filed under the American Elect Party.

Park City resident Eroh, head of the group CAGE (Citizens for the Alignment of Growth and the Environment), said he filed to run because there are a lot of problems in the county government that warrant change.

"There were a lot of things the Council should have not allowed: the Boyer development, the movie studio, Stone Ridge Development and Discovery Core," Eroh said. "It is encouraging to see so many people who want to be involved and the government can only get better by increased participation."

Favero also lives in Park City and said he wants to get involved to promote change and offer a strong candidate for the Republican Party and County Council.

"I have a strong business background and think I can offer a lot during this interesting time for the party and Council," he said. "The economy is going to turn around soon and there are issues that need to be addressed."

Judd said he is running because currently the County Council has no representative from Coalville, where Judd lives, and he said it is important the area is represented.

"I am a retired government teacher and have the time and experience to commit to the Council," Judd said. "I have no axe to grind with the current Council, I just have the time and want to give it."

Council Seat C, which is currently held by John Hanrahan, who is not running for re-election, is being sought by Democrat Kim Carson and Republicans Michael Howard, Jeff Smith and Duane Schmidt.

Park City resident Smith said he is running for County Council because there are a lot of good things that can be done in the county and with three vacancies it was the perfect year to run.

"I have a good knowledge of things around here and want to serve," he said.

Schmidt, the current Coalville mayor, filed to run for the County Council because after serving two terms as mayor, he said his experience and leadership skills make him well prepared.

"I believe Summit County needs strong and proven leadership and am in favor of a balanced budget, less spending, reduced regulations, smaller government and putting the people of Summit County in a position to succeed," Schmidt said.

Schmidt has two years left to his term as mayor and said he would leave the position early if he was elected to the County Council.

Park City resident Chris Robinson filed to run as a Democrat against current Republican Kraig Powell (R-Heber) for Utah House District Seat 54. John Zimmerman from Hoystville filed to run as a Republican against Mel Brown (R-Coalville) for House Seat 53. Park City resident Donna McAleer filed to run as a Democrat for U.S. House District 1 along with Jacqueline Smitha Republican, from Wanship.

Candidates who filed to run in November election

Council Seat A

Sean Wharton, Democrat, Marion

Roger Armstrong, Democrat, Park City

Max Greenhalgh, Republican, Park City

Michael Howard, Republican, Park City

Council Seat B

Claudia McMullin, Democrat, Park City (Incumbent)

Suzanne Pollard, Republican, Park City

Craig Eroh, Republican, Park City

Russ Judd, American Elect, Coalville

Randy Favero, Republican, Park City

Council Seat C

Kim Carson, Democrat, Park City

Jeff Smith, Republican, Park City

Duane Schmidt, Republican, Coalville

Utah House District 53

John Zimmerman, Republican, Wanship

Mel Brown, Republican, Hoytsville

Utah House District 54

Kraig Powell, Republican, Heber City

Christopher Robinson, Democrat, Park City

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User