Preliminary tally shows upset in county attorney’s race, big lead for Basin bond |

Preliminary tally shows upset in county attorney’s race, big lead for Basin bond

The Park Record

UPDATE 10:11 p.m.: According to the Summit County Clerk all of the ballots have been counted. Preliminary winners are: Chris Robinson (Council seat D), David Ure (Council Seat E), Robert Hilder (County attorney),Michael Howard (Auditor), Kent Jones (Clerk), MaryAnn Trussell (Recorder), Justin Martinez (Sheriff) and Corrie Forsling (Treasurer).

The Snyderville Basin Recreation Bond earned a sweeping endorsement from 72 percent of the voters.

In Precinct 5 of the Park City School District Julie Eihausen won a seat on the school board with 58 percent of the vote. In the South Summit School District Steven Hardman and Debra Blazzard won their races.

UPDATE 9:37 p.m.: With nearly all of the Basin’s precincts counted, 72 percent of the voters, so far, have voted to approve the Snyderville Basin Recreation Bond.

UPDATE 9:13 p.m.: In statewide Congressional races, with 7 of 88 precincts reporting in Dist. 4, Democrat Doug Owens (52 percent) is leading Republican Mia Love (45 percent). In District 1, with 118 of 510 precincts reporting Incumbent Rob Bishop (R) is taking a solid lead (67 percent) over Democrat Donna McAleer.

UPDATE 8:56: Partial results from absentee and early voting ballots, along with ballots cast today in Coalville, show incumbent council members Chris Robinson and David Ure taking early leads. In the county attorney’s race, however, based on just a few precincts and the early ballots, challenger Robert Hilder (D) is leading incumbent county attorney David Brickey (R) by a slim margin.

UPDATE 8:47 p.m.: The first box of ballots has arrived at the courthouse to be counted. They will be run along with the absentee and early voting ballots.

UPDATE 8:15 p.m., the polls around Summit County are closed. Some preliminary results may be released within the hour — including the tally from early voting and absentee ballots. Late Tuesday afternoon, Summit County Clerk Kent Jones, who is himself a candidate for re-election this year, said turnout seemed a bit lighter than in 2010, the last time that all seven county department heads were up for grabs.

In 2010, 12,024 of the county’s 24,637 registered voters cast ballots, electing Chris Robinson, a Democrat and Dave Ure, a Republican, to the council and David Edmunds, a Republican, to the sheriff’s post.

Steve Martin (D), Kent Jones (D) and Corrie Forsling, a Democrat, won their races four years ago for Assessor, Clerk and Treasurer respectively. David Brickey was unopposed for the attorney’s slot in 2010 as were Recorder Alan Spriggs, and Auditor Blake Frazier.

This year all of the incumbents, except Martin, are facing challengers. Edmunds and Frazier, however both declined to seek re-election and their seats have been hotly contended.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User