Results from election are official |

Results from election are official

Patrick Parkinson, Of the Record staff

Political races unofficially decided on Election Day did not overturn when votes were canvassed in Coalville and Kamas, the two largest cities on the East Side of Summit County.

Coalville Mayor Duane Schmidt won a second term by defeating former Mayor Merlyn Johnson. A vote canvass, which determines the official election results, showed Schmidt receiving 214 votes to Johnson’s 93.

In the contest for two seats on the Coalville City Council, incumbent County Councilman Ron Boyer received 270 votes, which was the most support any candidate received in the race for two two-year seats on the council.

Political newcomer Chris Brundy received 195 votes to defeat Denise Smith for the second seat. Smith, the wife of Coalville City Attorney Sheldon Smith, received 91 votes.

Coalville City Councilpersons Andrea Hewson and David Vernon, who each ran unopposed, were re-elected to four-year terms.

In Kamas, the election canvass occurred Nov. 10. Mayor Lew Marchant cruised to victory by receiving 125 votes to defeat challenger Jeff Lawrence. Lawrence received 74 votes.

Recommended Stories For You

Kamas City Councilwoman Diane Atkinson received 162 votes, which was the most votes any candidate received in the race for two seats on the City Council. City Councilman Rod Smith held onto his seat by defeating Thomas Snyder 126 to 109.

Meanwhile, Oakley Mayor Blake Frazier, who ran unopposed, received 152 votes on Election Day.

Oakley’s vote canvass was slated to occur Tuesday night. Two outstanding provisional and one absentee ballot still needed to be counted in the city this week.

The unofficial winners of two four-year terms on the Oakley City Council are Alton Frazier, who received 114 votes, and incumbent Councilman Tiny Woolstenhulme, who received 103 votes. Oakley City Councilman Bob Elbert received 84 votes and lost the race.

An election canvass was also scheduled Tuesday in Francis. But the unofficial results were not expected to change with only eight provisional ballots left to be counted.

Francis Town Councilman R. Lee Snelgove was unopposed in his mayoral bid and received 227 votes to replace retiring Francis Mayor John Bergen. Francis Town Councilman Lorin Prescott ran unopposed for a two-year term. He received 227 votes.

In the race for two four-year terms on the Francis Town Council, Tal Adair unofficially received 211 votes and H. Gio Melendez had received 142 votes to win the seats. The losing candidate in the race, Kristi Major, had received 126 votes.

At a vote canvass in Henefer Nov. 10, incumbent Town Councilmen Kay Richins received 100 votes and Brent Ovard received 98 votes. They were unopposed on the ballot in their re-election bids. Henefer Mayor Randy Ovard received 105 votes and was re-elected to his second term.