Slamdance announces its 2013 award winners |

Slamdance announces its 2013 award winners

Submitted by Slamdance

The 19th Annual Slamdance Film Festival has announced the recipients of this year’s awards in the Audience, Grand Jury and the Sponsored Award Categories.

The 2013 Slamdance Film Festival Closing Night Awards Ceremonies were held at the Treasure Mountain Inn on Thursday and were sponsored by JuntoBox Films.

As in previous years, juries of leading industry experts and esteemed filmmakers determined the Slamdance Grand Jury Awards for Feature Narrative, Feature Documentary, and Short Film categories.

Audience and Sponsored Awards, and the Spirit of Slamdance Award are also named.

The feature competition films in the Documentary and Narrative Programs are limited to first-time filmmakers working with production budgets of less than $1 million.

"We are pleased to be celebrating these extraordinary films from this year’s truly powerful slate of vanguard cinema," said Peter Baxter, Co-Founder and President of Slamdance.


  • Feature Documentary: "My Name Is Faith," by Jason Banker, Jorge Torres-Torres, Tiffany Sudela-Junker
  • Feature Narrative: "Hank and Asha," by James E. Duff


  • Feature Narrative: "The Dirties," by Matt Johnson.
  • Special Mention: "Joy de V," by Nadia Szold.


  • Sparky Award for Feature Documentary: "Bible Quiz," by Nicole Teeny
  • Sparky Award for Short Documentary: "The Birdman," by Jessie Auritt


  • Sparky Award for Animation: "I Am Tom Moody," by Ainslie Henderson.
  • Sparky Award for Short Film: "Rotkop," by Jan Roosens and Raf Roosens
  • Special Mention: "Josephine and the Roach," by Jonathan Langager
  • Special Mention: "Donald Cried," by Kris Avedisian


  • Spirit of Slamdance Sparky Award Presented by Actor/Director Thomas Jane: "The Dirites," by Matt Johnson.
  • The Kodak Vision Award for Best Cinematography: Dieter Deventer for "Fynbos"

    All Slamdance winners receive exclusive Slamdance Carhartt jackets courtesy of Carhartt, and the Audience Award Winner for Best Feature Narrative receives a Movie Magic budgeting and scheduling software bundle.

    The Grand Jury Award Winners for Feature Narrative and Feature Documentary receives a $3,500 credit each for law services from Pierce Law Group, and the Kodak Award for Best Cinematography Winner receives 5,000 feet of either 16mm or 35mm film from Kodak.

    The award-recipients weren’t the only winners of the night. Every 2013 Slamdance film will receive a complimentary, one-year Vimeo PRO account as a thanks for all of their hard work and continued creativity.

    For more information, visit

  • Support Local Journalism

    Support Local Journalism

    Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

    Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

    Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.