Summit County voters pick new attorney, sheriff and give big thumbs up to Basin bond |

Summit County voters pick new attorney, sheriff and give big thumbs up to Basin bond

Editor’s note: This story has been updated to clarify that the outcome of the auditor’s race will be unknown until the official tally.

For the most part, Summit County voters supported their incumbent elected officials on Election Day with a notable exception in the county attorney’s office. Former Judge Robert Hilder, running on the Democratic ticket, ousted David Brickey, a Republican who was hoping for a second term. Campaign issues focused on the balance of attention paid to the prosecution versus the civil sides of the department.

Tuesday’s tally is unofficial until the results are formally approved by the county council in about a week, giving candidates time to contest them if needed.

Less than half of the county’s registered voters turned out for this election cycle, casting 10,681 ballots, or 44.39 percent of the electorate.

Voters gave incumbent council members David Ure (R) and Chris Robinson (D) a vote of confidence, awarding each another four-year term.

Citizens also returned incumbents Steve Martin (Assessor), Kent Jones (Clerk), MaryAnn Trussell (Recorder) and Corrie Forsling (Treasurer) to their jobs.

In the two positions where the incumbents declined to run again, Michael Howard (D) will take over from Blake Frazier as Auditor, should his narrow lead be maintained after the canvass, and Justin Martinez (D) will replace David Edmunds as sheriff.

Howard, who previously worked in the Treasurer’s office, led Gary Shumway, who in a previous election had made a run for a council seat, after the election-night counting.

Martinez, currently a captain in the sheriff’s department, gained a comfortable margin over his challenger, winning with 67 percent of the vote.

In her second attempt to win the Congressional race for District 1, Park City resident Donna McAleer once again earned support from the majority of residents in Summit County, leading incumbent Rep. Rob Bishop with 55 percent of the local vote. However, when the rest of the district which includes a large swath of northern Utah, McAleer lost by a margin of 29 percent to Bishop’s 64 percent.

In another closely watched Congressional race for the District 4 seat (that did not tap Summit County voters), Republican Mia Love pulled out a victory over Democrat Doug Owens in a close race. Love logged 50.04 percent of the vote to Owen’s 46.75 percent.

In the state legislative races covering Park City and Summit County, Utah Sen. Kevin VanTassell (R-Vernal) kept his seat. Kraig Powell (R-Heber) will return to the state House of Representatives after defeating Democrat Glenn Wright of Park City, even though Wright was the choice in Summit County by a wide margin (63 to 27 percent).

Incumbent state Rep. Mel Brown (R- Coalville) also bested his challenger Ray Worthen of Morgan by a significant number 67 to 32 percent).

Summit County was also out of step with the rest of the state in the Attorney General’s contest where local voters picked Democrat Charles Stormont while the overall vote went to the current appointee Sean Reyes.


  • Council Seat D Craig Williams (R) – 4,480 votes
  • Council Seat D Chris Robinson (D)- 5,832 votes
  • Council Seat E Sean Wharton (D) – 4,987 votes
  • Council Seat E David Ure (R) – 5,357 votes
  • Assessor Steve Martin (D) (unopposed) -7,852 votes
  • Attorney Robert Hilder (D) – 5,323 votes
  • Attorney David Brickey (R) – 4,947 votes
  • Auditor Michael Howard (D) – 5,114 votes
  • Auditor Gary Shumway (R) – 5,071 votes
  • Clerk Kent Jones (D) – 6,221 votes
  • Clerk Nick Coleman (R) – 3,857 votes
  • Recorder Vicki Richards (R) – 3,836 votes
  • Recorder MaryAnn Trussell (D) – 6,074 votes
  • Sheriff Justin Martinez (D) – 7,045 votes
  • Sheriff Kris Hendricksen (R) – 3,350 votes
  • Treasurer Corrie Forsling (D) – 5,216 votes
  • Treasurer Amy Yost (R) – 4,979 votes
  • Snyderville Rec Bond FOR – 3,594
  • Snyderville Rec Bond AGAINST – 1,886
  • Park City School Board Pct. 5 Doug Payne – 511
  • Park City School Board Pct. 5 Julie Eihausen – 720
  • SSSD Pct. 4 Steve Hardman – 208 votes
  • SSSD Pct. 4 Lisa Farmer – 168
  • SSSD Pct. 5 Stephanie Waters – 133
  • SSSD Pct. 5 Debra Blazzard – 206

    Jay Hamburger and Angelique McNaughton contributed to this report

  • Support Local Journalism

    Support Local Journalism

    Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

    Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

    Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


    Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
    If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

    User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


    See more