County filing window opens this week |

County filing window opens this week

Aaron Osowski, The Park Record

For any Summit County residents wishing to run for public office this year, now is the time to decide. The official start to the 2014 election season begins Friday with the opening of the county’s filing window.

The filing period opens Friday, March 14, at 8 a.m. and runs until Thursday, March 20, at 5 p.m. The Clerk’s Office will be open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each weekday during that time. State and federal candidates can choose to file with the Lt. Governor’s Office. County and school board candidates must do so in-person at the Clerk’s Office.

The following four-year term county offices will be up for re-election this November, and several candidates have already announced their intent to run for re-election:

  • Council Seat D – Chris Robinson (D); seeking re-election
  • Council Seat E – Dave Ure (R); seeking re-election
  • Attorney – David Brickey (R); seeking re-election; Robert Hilder (D) has announced intent to run
  • Auditor – Blake Frazier (D); not seeking re-election
  • Clerk – Kent Jones (D); seeking re-election
  • Sheriff – Dave Edmunds (R); not seeking re-election. Justin Martinez (D), Dax Shane (R) and Kris Hendricksen (R) have announced intent to run.

    The following are six-year term county offices open to candidates:

  • Assessor – Steve Martin (D); seeking re-election
  • Recorder – MaryAnn Trussell (D); seeking re-election
  • Treasurer – Corrie Forsling (D); seeking re-election

    Candidates for U.S. House District 1, currently represented by Rep. Rob Bishop (R) can also file at the Clerk’s Office. The following state positions will also be open:

  • Senate District 26 – Kevin Van Tassell (R)
  • House District 28 – Brian King (D)
  • House District 53 – Melvin Brown (R)
  • House District 54 – Kraig Powell (R); Glenn Wright (D) has filed with Lt. Governor’s Office.
  • Attorney General – Sean Reyes (R)

    Retention elections for state judicial candidates are set to be held, which include:

  • Third District Court – 13 judges
  • Third District Juvenile Court – 2 judges

    Unopposed retention elections for state judicial candidates will also be held, providing that the incumbents whose terms are expiring file during this period. They include:

  • Supreme Court – 3 judges
  • Court of Appeals – 6 judges

    Local school board seats are also open to candidates, and include four-year terms for one board member each from Districts 4 and 5 in the North Summit, South Summit and Park City School Districts.

    Filing fees for each position equate to one-eighth of one percent of each position’s salary, and include: $537.36 for clerk and auditor, $203.01 for Council seat, $725 for attorney, $605 for sheriff, $50 for school board and $781.03 for treasurer, recorder and assessor.

    County party caucuses and conventions will be held within the next month as well. Republican Party neighborhood caucuses will be March 20 with the county convention set for April 13. Democratic Party neighborhood caucuses will be March 18 and the convention scheduled for March 29.

    Summit County Republican Party Chair Tal Adair can be reached at and Summit County Democratic Party Chair Glenn Wright can be reached at .

    For more information on candidate filing, contact Summit County Clerk Kent Jones at 435-336-3203 or via . The Clerk’s Office can be found inside the Summit County Courthouse at 60 N. Main Street in Coalville.