East Side voters choose incumbents | ParkRecord.com

East Side voters choose incumbents

Angelique McNaughton

Tuesday night, ballots from the East Side municipal elections rolled into the Summit County Courthouse within an hour of the polls closing.

Several city council seats were on the ballots in Coalville, Kamas, Oakley and Henefer. Last month, Francis City canceled its election because incumbents Jeremie Forman, Matt Crittenden and ron Ames were running unopposed.

According to the Summit County clerk’s office, approximately 846 East Side residents cast ballots in the election.

Kellie Robinson, Summit County’s chief deputy clerk, said the turnout was average for a municipal election cycle.

Coalville City

Three four-year seats and a two-year seat were on the ballot for Coalville City. Newcomer Cody Blonquist received the most votes with 184. Blonquist was awarded the two-year seat over Edward Keyes, who received 37 votes.

"It’s exciting," Blonquist said of the support he received. "It means there are a few people in town that trust me and I appreciate everyone coming out to vote and being honest."

While a council member, Blonquist said he plans to address some of the city’s zoning ordinances. Blonquist said he recently tried to build another home in Coalville and found the city’s ordinances "disconcerting."

Blonquist also said everyone is worried about the county’s fairgrounds and the future of the fair.

"It seems to be top priority and on a lot of people’s minds," he said.

Incumbents Adrianne Anson and Arlin B. Judd were each reelected for another four-year term after earning 124 and 134 votes, respectively, defeating Walter Brock and Steven B. Richins, who garnered 70 and 97 votes apiece.

Tyler J. Rowser, a Coalville City Planning Commissioner, was the only candidate at the Courthouse Tuesday awaiting the results.

"I have to see it on paper. I’m an analytic, I have to look at it," Rowser said while waiting.

Once he found out he had been awarded the third seat and garnered 126 votes, Rowser said "it’s going to be a new adventure." Rowser will join Anson, Judd and Blonquist on the five-member board.

"Hopefully we can take Coalville to some great places and make a great city even greater," Rowser said. "I think we will all probably work pretty well together."

Of Coalville’s 665 registered voters, 222 cast ballots. The official canvas will take place at 6 p.m., Tuesday, Nov. 17, during a special City Council meeting.


Once Henefer’s current council members announced they would not be seeking reelection, the city was on the verge of having to appoint two new members. However, in the days leading up to the deadline, six people filed as write-in candidates for the two four-year seats.

Robin Riches and Ryan Kyle Mosher received the most votes with 77 and 117, respectively, out of 153 ballots cast and will be seated on the council. The remaining candidates received the following votes: Derk Lindley, 9; Dawn Mathiesen Soger, 2; Dale Eatchel, 31; and Bruce Rowser, 54.

The election was conducted on paper ballots and the results were emailed to Summit County Clerk Kent Jones Tuesday night. Thirty-five percent of Henefer’s voters participated in the election.

A date has not been set for Henefer’s canvas, according to Earleen Paskett, Henefer town clerk, however, the city has until Nov. 17.

Paskett said the voter turnout wasn’t "as good" as it had been in the past, but considering that the election was for write-in candidates "we felt pretty good about what we got."


Three of the five council seats in Kamas were on the ballot. Incumbents Michael J. Crystal and Kevan N. Todd will be joined by Monica K. Blazzard. Blazzard had previously told The Park Record she has not held a public office before.

Blazzard received the most votes of the four candidates with 157. Todd received 155 and Crystal 144 votes. Matt McCormick, who had 129 votes, was eliminated.

Kamas City’s canvas will be held Tuesday, Nov. 10, at 7 p.m. during the regularly scheduled City Council meeting.


Oakley voters had to choose which candidates would occupy the city’s three four-year council seats and a two-year seat. Incumbents Amy Rydalch, 232, and Lorrie Hoggan, 151, will keep their positions. Joe B. Frazier, 175, and Tom Smart, 183, were also appointed to the council, defeating Mont J. Flygare who had 135 votes.

Smart, who received the most votes in Oakley, said he was "happy, of course."

"I’m happy to spend a few years doing this, but if they would have said someone else made it I would have been OK. I am anxious to be a voice and try to keep our area rural. I think I’ll do a good job and I think it is an important era we are going into," Smart said.

Zoning and annexation issues are priority topics moving forward, Smart said. Smart says maintaining a rural atmosphere is his No. 1 priority.

"I have had a lot of people come up and talk to me and tell me they were supportive of what I stood for and I will make every effort to serve Oakley," Smart said. "There is no hidden agenda here other than to keep as the nice place that it is."

To view the election results, go to the Summit County website’s homepage or follow this link: http://summitcounty.org/DocumentCenter/View/2720.