East Side voters choose incumbents | ParkRecord.com

East Side voters choose incumbents

Tuesday night, the unofficial results of the East Side and Service Area municipal elections rolled into the Summit County Courthouse within an hour of the polls closing.

Several City Council seats were on the ballot for Coalville, Kamas, Oakley and Henefer. Last month, Francis City canceled its elections

Coalville City

Three four-year seats and a two-year seat were on the ballot for Coalville City. Newcomer Cody Blonquist received the most votes with 184. Blonquist was awarded the two-year seat over Edward Keyes, who received 37 votes.

Incumbents Adrianne Anson and Arlin B. Judd were reelected for another four-year term after earning 124 and 134 votes, respectively, defeating Walter Brock and Steven B. Richins, who garnered 70 and 97 votes apiece.

Tyler J. Rowser, a Coalville City Planning Commissioner, was the only candidate at the Courthouse awaiting the results.

"I have to see it on paper. I’m an analytic, I have to look at it," Rowser said while waiting.

Once he found out he had been awarded the third seat and garnered 126 votes, Rowser said "it’s going to be a new adventure." Rowser will join Anson, Judd and Blonquist on the five-member board.

"Hopefully we can take Coalville to some great places and make a great city even greater," Rowser said. "I think we will all probably work pretty well together."


Once Henefer’s current council members announced they would not be seeking reelection, the city was on the verge of having to appoint two new members. However, in the days leading up to the deadline, six people filed as write-in candidates for the two four-year seats.

Robin Riches and Ryan Kyle Mosher received the most votes with 77 and 117, respectively, out of 156 ballots cast. The remaining candidates received the following votes: Derk Lindley, 9; Dawn Mathiesen Soger, 2; Dale Eatchel, 31; and Bruce Rowser, 54.

The election was conducted on paper ballots and the results were emailed to Summit County Clerk Kent Jones Tuesday night.


Three of the five council seats in Kamas were on the ballot. Incumbents Michael J. Crystal and Kevan N. Todd will be joined by newcomer Monica K. Blazzard. Blazzard had previously told The Park Record she has not previously held public office.

Blazzard received the most votes of the four candidates with 157. Todd received 155 and Crystal 144 votes to defeat Matt McCormick, 129.


Voters had to choose which candidates would occupy Oakley’s three four-year seats and a two-year seat. Incumbents Amy Rydalch, 232, and Lorrie Hoggan, 151, will keep their positions. Joe B. Frazier, 175, and Tom Smart, 183, were also appointed to the council, defeating Mont J. Flygare who had 135 votes.

Service Area No. 3

Four Service Area No. 3 Board of Trustee seats, two from the upper precinct and two from the lower precinct were on the ballot. Service Area No. 3 covers Silver Creek Estates.

Four candidates filed for the upper precinct, including incumbent Chairman Robert Vern Olson, Michael Montgomery, Gwen McMillin and Robert Carpenter. Olson, with 67 votes, and Montgomery, with 51, were awarded the seats.

The three candidates that filed for the lower precinct, were incumbent John Graber, Vincent Pao-Borjigin and Eileen Galoostian. Pao-Borjigin and Galoostian defeated Graber, with 88 and 52 votes, respectively. Graber received 43.

Snyderville Basin Water Reclamation District

One seat on the Snyderville Basin Water Reclamation District Board of Trustees was being contested. Morgan H. Irvin unsuccessfully challenged incumbent Bob Richer for the seat representing the Snyderville Basin.

Richer received 1,933 votes compared to Irvin’s 437 votes.

Another seat, representing Park City and currently held by Dick Pick, was on the ballot. However, Pick ran unopposed and was awarded the seat.