Municipal election preview |

Municipal election preview

Aaron Osowski, The Park Record

The filing deadline for Summit County municipal election candidates was this Friday. A strong display of civic duty has been present in Coalville as five new candidates have entered the race to assume the seat of retiring Mayor Duane Schmidt.

However, Coalville was the only town with a strong candidate turnout, and as of press time Francis City still had one Council member position that failed to garner a single candidate. Here are the current filers for all seats open for election.


Mayor Lewis Marchant and Council members Diane Atkinson and Rod Smith, all incumbents, were the only three candidates to file for the mayor’s post and two Council seats.


With Mayor Duane Schmidt deciding not to pursue re-election this year, the field opened up this year with five individuals filing for his seat. The candidates include Steven B. Richins, Merlyn W. Johnson, Trever J. Johnson, Colton Drae Burgener and Arlin B. Judd. A primary election to narrow the field to two candidates will be held Tuesday, August 13.

Recommended Stories For You

There are three candidates running for the two vacant Council member seats this year. They include Cuyler Scates, Bob McKeehan and Rodney Robbins.


No new candidates had entered Henefer’s municipal elections as of late Friday afternoon. Mayoral incumbent Randy Ovard and Council member incumbents Kay Richins and Brent Ovard all filed for re-election.

Francis City

Mayor R. Lee Snelgrove and Council member Michael Baldwin applied for re-election this year, leaving one Council seat without a candidate.


Mayoral incumbent Blake Frazier and Council member incumbents Kendall Woolstenhulme and Alton Frazier filed for re-election. Lorrie Hoggan filed for the vacant two-year Council member position of Les England, who left before his term expired.