Summit County municipal elections preview |

Summit County municipal elections preview

Aaron Osowski, The Park Record

The filing deadline for municipal elections across Summit County is fast approaching, and this week represents a crucial time for those who aspire to make a difference in their communities.

On the east side of Summit County, there are five mayoral seats and 10 councilmember seats that are up for re-election. For those who have thought about serving their town by holding public office, municipal elections are unique since they are non-partisan and there are no professional qualifications needed, merely proof of residency.

Here are the seats that are up for re-election in all five towns on the east side, as well as the hours interested individuals can file for candidacy. The Park City mayoral and council races are covered separately in this edition.

Francis City

This year, the seats of Council members Michael Baldwin and Gio Melendez are up for re-election. Mayor R. Lee Snelgrove’s seat is also up for re-election.

Individuals interested in running for any of these vacant positions must complete a Declaration of Candidacy at the City Recorders office at the Francis City Offices, located at 2317 South Spring Hollow Road, by June 6. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Recommended Stories For You


Mayor Duane Schmidt has decided not to run for re-election this year, leaving the position open to solely new candidates. Having served two terms as mayor of Coalville, Schmidt said the community needs additional development in order to thrive in the future. Issues of importance that Schmidt also noted are (1) needed upgrades to the culinary water lines and storage system, (2) sidewalk replacements and (3) road maintenance.

The seats of Councilmembers Andrea Hewson and David Vernon are up for re-election this year. The filing period ends this Friday, June 7, and any person seeking to become a candidate must file a "Declaration of Candidacy" in person with the Coalville City Recorder, 60 N. Main Street, during regular office hours.


The seats of Councilmembers Brent G. Ovard and Kay H. Richins are up for re-election this year. Interested individuals who are residents of Henefer should bring a driver license to 150 W. Center St. by Friday, June 7. Office hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Mayor Randy Ovard’s seat is also up for re-election. On Monday Ovard said he will more than likely declare his candidacy. He has stated that the biggest issue facing Henefer is water. The town has enough water for 340 homes but needs more, which is why Ovard is working to secure funding.

Mayor Ovard stated that Henefer is the "best place to serve" and noted that the town does not reimburse him for anything. "It’s not a money-making project," Ovard said.


Councilmembers Alton Frazier and Kendall Woolstenhulme are up for re-election this year, while current Councilmember Lorrie Hoggan has applied for a 2-year position to fill the unexpired term of Les England, who left the country to serve on a mission for his church.

Mayor Blake Frazier’s seat is also up for re-election. Frazier has decided to run again and noted that the primary issues of significance for Oakley are "controlled growth, commercial development, maintaining the rural lifestyle, water, sewer and roads."

Persons wishing to become a candidate for any of these positions should file a "Declaration of Candidacy" form in person with the City Recorder at 960 W. Center Street. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and the filing deadline is Friday, June 7.


Mayor Lewis Marchant and Councilmembers Diane Atkinson and Rod Smith all have their seats up for re-election this year.

Those interested in becoming a candidate should file in person with the City Recorder at 170 N. Main Street between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday and between the hours of 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. on Friday.