Opinion | ParkRecord.com

Opinion

Guest editorial: ‘We have met the enemy and he is us’

October 19, 2018 — We quote from the old Pogo comic strip as it so aptly describes a lot of the current political/complaint landscape. We, like many, lament what we see out there in the world. But it is upsetting to see so much complaining and comments of "it

Learn more »

For the Record: Which race or ballot measure is the most important to you?

October 18, 2018 — This week, as ballots were mailed to voters in Summit County this week, The Park Record wanted to know which item on their ballots they thought was the most important or interesting to them.

Learn more »

Record editorial: When it comes to funding education, we can no longer get by with less

October 18, 2018 — Dead last isn't good enough. That has been apparent for years, but the Utah Legislature, despite steps in the right direction, has been unwilling to allot enough money to public education to drag the state from the bottom of the heap in per-pupil funding. We

Learn more »

Letters: Treasure development would have ‘significant impact’ on all of Park City

October 18, 2018 — Significant impact Editor: As a Park Meadows resident, I am not in the same neighborhood as the potential Treasure project but I think it will have a significant impact on everyone in Park City, locals, tourists and businesses. Because of this, I am strongly in

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: The Trojans once again invade Main Street

October 18, 2018 — The biennial weekend wherein the University of Southern California Trojan football team and marching band descend upon the stomping grounds of their Pac-12 South rival, the University of Utah Utes, is approaching at the speed of a blitzing peanut vendor.

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Second-home owner will gladly shoulder burden of Treasure bond

October 17, 2018 — I call myself a part-time local. I have been coming here to ski since the 1980s and I love this town. I was lucky enough to buy a miner's shack in Old Town before the Olympics. Over time, I have fixed it up, and I

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: LDS Church’s call for a social media fast is suspiciously timed

October 17, 2018 — With a midterm in less than a month and with women at the center of the social conversation, Amy Roberts says the LDS church’s social media fast is ill-considered

Learn more »

Record editorial: Women in this election cycle are standing up and leading the way

October 16, 2018 — The movement is unmistakable. Across the country, there is an unprecedented wave of women running for political office.

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Midway, like Park City before it, faces a decision about open space

October 15, 2018 — Nearly three decades ago a small park in my Old Town neighborhood was slated for commercial development and endorsed by the Park City Council. Energized citizens, including myself, organized, protested and defeated the proposed development. The Carl Winter School playing field, our "open space," was

Learn more »

Tom Clyde: Truthful caller ID

October 14, 2018 — Nothing that’s happened in the past few weeks has told Tom Clyde that democracy is in good shape.

Learn more »

Letters: Parkites would not regret voting for another open space bond

October 14, 2018 — No regrets Editor: I have never regretted voting for an open space bond. Have you? I cherish walks in Round Valley, bike riding and driving along the McPolin Barn/McCloud Creek entry corridor and the open vistas of Guardsman Pass. And there are many other PERMANENT

Learn more »

Teri Orr: We already have (the) Treasure — let’s not lose it

October 12, 2018 — I have been worrying about Treasure Hill for nearly 40 years. And writing about it for every bit as long. I love the open space — we all do. And we have weighed the pros and cons of development for a long time. And we

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: Axe throwing could bridge the divide

October 12, 2018 — Amy Roberts: Maybe an activity as primal as axe throwing can bring us back together.

Learn more »

For the Record: What does the early snow mean for the ski season?

October 11, 2018 — This week, the Park Record newsroom was certainly excited about the year's first snowfall, but is it a good omen for the ski season?

Learn more »

Letters: Political polarization in America is disturbing

October 11, 2018 — Opposite poles Editor: The extreme polarization of politics in today's world is disturbing. Why? Antagonistic polarization will be the death of compromise. Democracies are built on compromise. Angry partisan speech does not seem to be limited to one political party or ideology. Dr. Fairs, a

Learn more »

Record editorial: Kilby Road controversy could have been avoided

October 10, 2018 — Editorial: Outrage has poured in since drivers got their first look at the redone road. But it didn’t have to be that way.

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Getting out the vote

October 10, 2018 — Jay Meehan, like many Americans, suffers from politics-induced insomnia.

Learn more »

Record editorial: Prop 4 may be last chance to end gerrymandering before next round of redistricting

October 8, 2018 — Redistricting reform is needed in Utah. Voters should take their chance to get it.

Learn more »

Letters: Who is at the wheel in Park City

October 7, 2018 — Who's at the wheel Editor: It appears that the majority of Park City drivers have chosen to ignore normal rules of the road in favor of a "Me First" approach. These days it is very much the exception to see a vehicle actually stop at

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Treasure bond includes not-so-hidden costs

October 6, 2018 — I feel it is my community responsibility to ensure everyone understands the costs and impact associated with the continued pursuit of open lands as Park City Municipal Corp. (PCMC) funded projects.

Learn more »