Opinion | ParkRecord.com

Opinion

Teri Orr: Sacred messages amid the madness…

February 15, 2019 — Recognizing a big, yet obvious, first step in Congress.

Learn more »

Letters: Parkites should speak up about Salt Lake’s inland port

February 14, 2019 — A port problem Editor: So what is the Inland Port and why should we care? Well, I for one am really concerned and am hoping that Park City residents all get involved. I started to be concerned about shrinking levels of water in the Great

Learn more »

Record editorial: After Sundance and World Champs, Parkites owe workers a debt of gratitude

February 13, 2019 — Parkites owe a debt of gratitude to the people who worked tirelessly to ensure the mayhem of Sundance and the FIS World Championships was kept to a relative minimum.

Learn more »

Guest editorial: An open letter to Park City transit officials

February 10, 2019 — To the readers of The Park Record: I hope that after reading these comments you will take the time to express your views to the Park City Transit Department, to whom I copy this letter. As I understand it, management might be open to changes

Learn more »

Record editorial: Labor contract for PCMR ski patrollers is a win for Park City

February 9, 2019 — Wage increases for PCMR’s patrollers under new labor contract are good for skiers and snowboarders.

Learn more »

Tom Clyde: Park City’s powder day goop

February 9, 2019 — The return of winter in earnest has transformed Park City into an impenetrable powder fortress, writes Tom Clyde.

Learn more »

Record editorial: At last, we can put noise wall controversy behind us

February 8, 2019 — The great noise wall debate appears to have been silenced at last. Last week, the Utah Legislative Auditor General released the results of a review exploring whether the Utah Department of Transportation followed internal policy and state and federal statutes throughout the process of designing

Learn more »

Letters: Kudos to the Park City Police Department

February 7, 2019 — Police Department offered helping hand Editor: Last Saturday, in the midst of Sundance Film Festival first weekend traffic and parking challenges, I misplaced my friend's car. Frantic to find it and very worried it had been towed or — worse — stolen, I called the

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: The calm between Park City’s storms

February 7, 2019 — Living in a constantly transforming Park City is a matter of evolve or die. Well, maybe not die, but lulls in the busy season are a welcome respite.

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Leader of opposition group reacts to noise wall review

February 6, 2019 — Citizens Against the Wall alleged that the Utah Department of Transportation was in violation of its own noise policy. CATW is disappointed that legislative auditors did not fully comprehend the stated allegations to find UDOT in violation. However, the auditors did recommend UDOT make policy

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Sundance lovers and tree huggers

February 6, 2019 — It’s a wrap on Sundance as Jay Meehan runs down a trio of documentaries that made an impression.

Learn more »

Tom Clyde: Roadside casualties on S.R. 248

February 5, 2019 — Thankfully, no one got to work butchering a roadkilled elk on S.R. 248 as buses of Sundance attendees rolled by.

Learn more »

Letters: Legislature is right to change Prop 3

February 3, 2019 — Adjustments to Prop 3 needed Editor: It's heart-wrenching that some deserving Utahns face a health insurance coverage gap when they do not qualify for a federal subsidy or cost-sharing reductions via the federal marketplace and then Utah's Medicaid program also rejects them. However, expanding Utah's

Learn more »

Record editorial: Legislature’s march to reworking Prop 3 unacceptable but unsurprising

February 2, 2019 — Republicans in the state Legislature are wasting little time moving forward with their attempt to significantly alter the Medicaid expansion plan Utah voters approved in November. The Senate on Wednesday gave S.B. 96 initial approval and appears primed to send it to the House. Reportedly,

Learn more »

Teri Orr: Raise more hell!

February 1, 2019 — Teri Orr finds a late fellow traveler in Molly Ivins

Learn more »

For the Record: What do you want the Utah Legislature to accomplish this session?

February 1, 2019 — Each week, The Park Record asks For the Record, encouraging residents and visitors to weigh in on a topic of interest. This week, the Utah Legislature began its 2019 session. With only 33 working days this year, the Legislature will work on everything from Medicaid

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Documentaries that’ll stick to your ribs

January 31, 2019 — Jay Meehan reviews a pair of documentaries that will satiate any informational appetite.

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: Rubbing elbows and shrugging shoulders with Sundance

January 31, 2019 — Amy Roberts got out of town before Hollywood came knocking, and what she found when she returned was an unexpected hubbub.

Learn more »

Letters: Practice makes perfect at Silver Summit Elementary

January 31, 2019 — Practice makes perfect Editor: Fred Rogers taught us that "play gives children a chance to practice what they are learning." At Silver Summit Elementary School, we are grateful that our community has come together to plan an exciting, fun and safe playground where students can

Learn more »

Record editorial: Park City ready to be center of winter sports universe

January 30, 2019 — The wait is almost over. For 10 days starting Friday, Park City will be the epicenter of the winter sports universe once again. More than 1,300 athletes from 36 countries will gather to compete in the FIS World Championships in snowboard, freestyle and freeski disciplines.

Learn more »