Opinion | ParkRecord.com

Opinion

Tom Clyde: Real estate news

September 23, 2018 — Changes in Tom Clyde’s neighborhood are further proof that the world is wobbling out of orbit.

Learn more »

Letters: How can Park City afford to not pass Treasure bond?

September 23, 2018 — How can we afford not to pass bond? Editor: Listening to the arguments about affordability for the Treasure bond, I can't help thinking — how can we afford not to pass this bond? We are talking about 123 acres that will require six years of

Learn more »

Editorial: There are no easy fixes to labor shortage in Park City

September 22, 2018 — Focus on affordable housing and transportation could help ease worker shortage in Summit County.

Learn more »

For the Record: What about the fall season do you enjoy the most?

September 22, 2018 — Each week, the Park Record asks For the Record, a weekly question with answers submitted by local residents and visitors.

Learn more »

Jenny Knaak: Staying on the platform

September 21, 2018 — One day, you will wake up to find your sweet, silly, chubby-faced toddler has become a surly, sour, acne-faced adolescent.

Learn more »

Letters: Water conservation should be priority in Park City

September 20, 2018 — Priorities down the drain Editor: Water cascaded down Three Kings Drive frequently this summer. It seems municipal resources are so limited that it can take days to patch (not replace?) a repeatedly breaking pipe. The Park Record has also reported water line breaks in Old

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Frustration about rising taxes in Park City is building

September 20, 2018 — Local government does nothing but raise the cost of living here with increased taxes and infrastructure costs.

Learn more »

Editorial: Park City’s social equity efforts have been absent from Treasure bond debate

September 19, 2018 — After years of controversy surrounding the Treasure development proposal, its fate is now up to Park City voters.

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: Young at heart, but a tad older elsewhere

September 19, 2018 — I have come to learn there’s no such thing as aging gracefully

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Smell of wildfires provides a trip down memory lane

September 18, 2018 — Smoky conditions reach as high as Lake Creek and Center Creek summits to the east and Park City to the north. As far as respiratory systems are concerned, it’s a jungle out there.

Learn more »

Tom Clyde: The beef over the McPolin Farm cattle misses the point

September 17, 2018 — I was away when the controversy over the cattle on the McPolin Farm broke out. After many years of being livestock-free, the City leased the property for grazing. Even in a dry year like this, the grass grows pretty deep on that land, and tall,

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Treasure, if developed, may have health implications

September 16, 2018 — Large amounts of airborne dust will be generated through blasting, bulldozing and other heavy equipment operation, and dump truck loading and movement through the city.

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Three decades of Treasure talks point to a ‘yes’ vote on bond

September 16, 2018 — Tourism and the environment was considered and found that the environment and historic charm take precedent.

Learn more »

Teri Orr: Mysterious ways…

September 15, 2018 — The Christian Center of Park City, and its new space, is a gift to our community.

Learn more »

Editorial: As election season heats up, Summit County residents bear responsibility

September 15, 2018 — Labor Day has come and gone. The landscape is dotted with vivid fall colors and campaign signs that have sprouted all over Summit County. Election season is here. More than a month remains before voters can begin casting mail-in ballots, but candidates have started making

Learn more »

Letters: Treasure bond is a bargain for Parkites

September 13, 2018 — Food for thought Editor: The City is asking the property owners (primary, secondary and business) to approve a $48 million 15-year bond to buy out the Sweeney/Treasure Hill group. The City reports that as of 2/11/18 the property tax payers had obligations of "principal and

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: Women cause a racket for respect

September 13, 2018 — There's an old urban legend that claims death happens in threes. If that's true, then it seems fair to assume societal expectations women be 'lady like' in their disapproval, or politely defer to the whims of male opinion, are (hopefully) on their death beds. Three

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Tales from a misspent youth

September 12, 2018 — "Granted I am a babbler, a harmless vexatious babbler… " ~ Fyodor Dostoevsky We were stronger then, it seems, and we hunkered down in our mountain valley and drank and smoked and sang along. It was our "misspent youth" and not unlike today many of

Learn more »

Editorial: Critiques of home acquisition for Park City superintendent miss the point

September 12, 2018 — After months of searching for the right place, the Park City School District is officially a homeowner. Congratulations are in order, even if some in the community aren't exactly lining up to shower the district with housewarming gifts. Last week, the Board of Education voted

Learn more »

Tom Clyde: Wrapping up summer

September 11, 2018 — I spent last week on a fully supported backcountry mountain bike trip. It was great, with spectacular scenery in Bryce and Zion. We did some hiking in both parks, and they never fail to inspire. The companionship was as good as the scenery, and the

Learn more »