Opinion | ParkRecord.com

Opinion

For the Record: Are multi-resort passes like the Epic and Ikon offerings good for skiing?

March 21, 2019 — Each week, The Park Record asks For the Record, encouraging residents and visitors to weigh in on a topic of interest. This week, as this skiing season draws to a close, ski resorts are already advertising passes for next season. The two big players in

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Student climate change protest was only the beginning

March 20, 2019 — As a student at Park City High School, I continuously have the freedom to express my own personal opinions and be supported by faculty and peers. I haven't always been interested in protesting or demonstrating, but the time had come for me to share my

Learn more »

Record editorial: Utah Legislature remains unwilling to act on gun reform

March 20, 2019 — Before the start of the legislative session in January, there was reason for cautious optimism that enough momentum was building on gun reform that lawmakers would seriously consider a few common-sense measures aimed at making Utahns safer. Unfortunately, though, it was clear by the time

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Marching into the Mountains of Madness

March 19, 2019 — Say it ain't so! With all the problems in the world, you'd at least think we'd get a break from the selection committee for the 2019 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Tournament. But what are they smoking down there? My problem isn't that the West

Learn more »

Cherniak: Retiring coal one kilowatt-hour at a time

March 19, 2019 — Beginning in 1960 and continuing until 2015, coal was the primary means of producing electricity within the continental U.S. Approximately 50 percent of our electricity was generated by coal-fired power plants. But according to the U.S. Energy Information Administration, that percentage began to decline starting

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Goal of saving Osguthorpe Farm is worthy of everyone’s support

March 18, 2019 — Like many of us, when I first drove up the canyon from Salt Lake City to Park City, I knew this was the place for me, notwithstanding in my case the expensive speeding ticket I attracted from the Utah Highway Patrol with my rental SUV.

Learn more »

Letters: Donate whatever you can to save a part of Park City’s heritage

March 17, 2019 — Give again, or for the first time Editor: There is an urgent need for all of us to respond to saving the Osguthorpe Farm along Old Ranch Road, preserving this 158-acres from development — saving it from development with concrete, asphalt and other non-water absorbing

Learn more »

Record editorial: Visit from Vail Resorts CEO is chance for Parkites to broach critical topics

March 17, 2019 — Monday evening is shaping up to be epic. Rob Katz, chairman and CEO of Vail Resorts, is slated to speak at a community event put on by the Leadership Park City program. It will be a rare public appearance in town by Katz, one of

Learn more »

Teri Orr: My favorite person

March 15, 2019 — It starts with a mistake, or wrong-headed action, or judgment — or when my kids were teenagers — with the scrape on the side of the car. It starts with something gone kinda wrong. Wrong in a way you know in your heart was wrong

Learn more »

Letters: Park City Community Church preaches acceptance, inclusion and love

March 15, 2019 — Acceptance, inclusion and love Editor: In recent weeks, the Methodist Council voted to limit the extent of participation of the LGBTQ+ community in church activities. We three members of the Park City Community Church, a Methodist church, find this unacceptable because it is not inclusive

Learn more »

For the Record: Should the ski resorts extend their seasons?

March 14, 2019 — Each week, The Park Record asks For the Record, encouraging residents and visitors to weigh in on a topic of interest. This week, as the winter winds down in Park City, we’re pondering the possibility of extending ski season just a *little* bit longer. Both

Learn more »

Record editorial: $90 million price tag would jeopardize South Summit school bond

March 14, 2019 — In 2017, the South Summit School District asked residents to pony up $58.65 million for a new high school to alleviate overcrowding that is straining current facilities. Voters, bristling at such a significant outlay, rejected a bond measure that fall. So, naturally, district officials are

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Hey, St. Patrick, America has a snake problem

March 13, 2019 — "If it was raining soup, the Irish would go out with forks." ~ Brendan Behan March is that time of year when I plug Irishness into most all my deductive thoughts. It just comes naturally. Like, if I'm up to my download port in raging

Learn more »

Letter: Stuffing more cars into our small town is not the answer

March 12, 2019 — More cars in a small town Editor: Figuring out how to move more and more cars around Park City ignores the big question of how to save Park City from more and more cars. If we are still wonderful enough to attract all these visitors,

Learn more »

Record editorial: In gutting conversion therapy ban, lawmakers failed Utah’s most vulnerable youth

March 10, 2019 — It was a disgraceful day in the Utah Legislature. On Tuesday, a House committee, bending to quacks and zealots, gutted a bill that sought to put an end in the state to the inhumane practice of conversion therapy, which involves attempting to "cure" LGBTQ youth

Learn more »

Teri Orr: You know the signs…

March 8, 2019 — "The tulips are too excitable, it is winter here," I said in my head to no one and everyone around me. I have said this phrase so many winters in my adult life — when the tulips show up in the grocery store — months

Learn more »

For the Record: How has the Legislature performed this year?

March 8, 2019 — Each week, The Park Record asks For the Record, encouraging residents and visitors to weigh in on a topic of interest. This week, the Utah Legislature is nearing the end of the 2019 session. We wanted to understand the public’s assessment of how lawmakers have performed.

Learn more »

Record editorial: End to signature-gathering debate provides a win for the people

March 7, 2019 — The voice of the people is more important than the voice of the party.

Learn more »

Guest editorial: School District says there are benefits to standards-based learning grading system

March 7, 2019 — As Park City School District transforms our schools to meet the needs of the future, it is critical we examine the ways we prepare and engage students. Our mission is to inspire and support all students equitably to achieve their academic and social potential. How

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Go Big Easy or go home

March 6, 2019 — These days, Jay Meehan celebrates Mardi Gras not by catching throws, hitting Bourbon Street, or destroying a table of crawfish, but by mixing a Sazerac and pulling out a few good books at home.

Learn more »