Opinion | ParkRecord.com

Opinion

Jay Meehan: Spacing out

April 25, 2018 — "Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads." ~ Henry David Thoreau Admittedly, I get too worked up over our current land use debate. I could probably use an upgrade in meds. Although a still highly enjoyable pursuit, self-medication certainly doesn't seem

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: Self-help seminar takeaway – Be someone you can be proud of

April 25, 2018 — I am not a fan or likely registrant of buzzword seminars. When I see an ad for an upcoming workshop touting "leadership" or "empowerment" or "inner peace," I do not ponder the learning potential or reserve the date on my calendar. The only thing I

Learn more »

Editorial: Summit County Children’s Justice Center deserves a home befitting its mission

April 25, 2018 — The importance of the Summit County Children's Justice Center's work cannot be overstated. Since its inception in 2012, it has provided a safe place for hundreds of children who have been abused so the authorities can interview them about their experiences in a way that

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Maintaining dark skies is a critical initiative for Utah’s state parks, residents

April 24, 2018 — We are fortunate in Wasatch and Summit counties as we can see most constellations and planets in the sky, but we are starting to lose the deep space and more faint stars. Natural dark sky areas are decreasing across the United States and around the

Learn more »

Letter: Action needed to improve rural access to hospice care

April 23, 2018 — Action needed to improve rural access to hospice care Editor: My name is Heather Marshall and I wish to express my sincere concern over the continuing refusal of the federal government to fix a quirk in current law that could prevent over 27 million Americans

Learn more »

Guest editorial: Conley says serving as Park City superintendent was a privilege

April 22, 2018 — As many of you already know, I will soon begin my role as Superintendent of Mesa Public Schools. It has been my privilege to serve as Superintendent of Park City School District. It has not always been an easy position to hold. We have celebrated

Learn more »

Editorial: Try as it might, Legislature still can’t get Utah liquor laws right

April 21, 2018 — The Utah Legislature took two steps forward when it took action to eliminate the so-called Zion Curtain in the 2017 legislative session. The only problem is that it was accompanied by a large step back. The law that allowed restaurants to take down their Zion

Learn more »

Teri Orr: Educating ourselves to hope

April 21, 2018 — At a recent weeklong global conference in Vancouver, about 20 of us were selected to discuss, "Equipping future generations to thrive." Those around the dinner table were from New Zealand and New England, the UK and Utah (OK that was me). A pediatrician/author who has

Learn more »

Tom Clyde: Filing an extension on the IRS’ one job

April 21, 2018 — Wednesday was tax day. We got a couple of extra days because the 15th landed on a Sunday; Monday was a holiday in Washington, DC. So taxes were due on Tuesday. Except there was a little problem. The IRS computer system crashed and wouldn't accept

Learn more »

Editorial: Our Schools Now compromise is encouraging, but more funding still needed

April 18, 2018 — On Monday, Gov. Gary Herbert signed into law the school funding compromise lawmakers reached with leaders of the Our Schools Now ballot initiative during the legislative session. It marks the end of the debate surrounding Our Schools Now, which sought to raise the state income

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: A woke in the woods

April 18, 2018 — "I believe a leaf of grass is no less than the journey-work of the stars." ~ Walt Whitman I'm pretty much ignorant when it comes to the natural world. My learning curve is such that if a marble were to find itself the topside, there

Learn more »

Letter: Celebrate Earth Day by eating green

April 18, 2018 — Celebrate Earth Day by eating green Editor: With the 50th observance of Earth Day on April 22nd, each of us can contribute by reducing our driving, use of electric energy, and consumption of animals. Yes, that. Last Fall Oxford University's prestigious Food Climate Research Network

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: Judging a book by its cover can sometimes work in your favor

April 18, 2018 — Driving back to Park City after an event in Salt Lake last weekend, the car I was in was filled with five people and what seemed like 105 different conversations. Our topics varied greatly — from politics, to what books each passenger was reading ,to

Learn more »

Letter: Students should chase their dreams

April 15, 2018 — Students should chase their dreams Editor: I was disheartened reading the article about Treasure Mountain Junior High's Reality Town activity. I was an eighth grader at Treasure Mountain 2008-2009 and remember participating in Reality Town. However, the takeaway described by the students in this article

Learn more »

Editorial: Park City marchers are right — science should not be up for political debate

April 14, 2018 — On Saturday, a crowd was set to march down Park City's Main Street in the name of science for the second straight year. The size of the demonstration, dubbed the March for Science, was not expected to be on the same scale as the recent

Learn more »

Tom Clyde: I-80’s noise problem could be worse. It could be musical.

April 14, 2018 — I haven't paid a lot of attention to the Jeremy Ranch noise wall debate. It's obviously very important to the people who live there. It's one of those issues that presents two inconsistent things that are both true. Freeways are noisy, and noise walls are

Learn more »

Letters: Youth Sports Alliance grateful for community’s support of Olympians

April 12, 2018 — Summit County sprawl exacerbates climate change Editor: According to the US Dept of Energy, Utah electric generation is 64% from coal and methane gas. Hybrid vehicles cause far less greenhouse gas emissions in Utah than electric vehicles (EVs) or plug-in hybrids do. The electric grid

Learn more »

Jay Meehan: Media massages

April 11, 2018 — "Time moves in one direction, memory in another." ~ William Gibson The great notion to tag along with a few L.A. expatriate buddies as they negotiated their way westward toward a movie show in Salt Lake coincided with the arrival of our final round of

Learn more »

Editorial: Contributions from many made ski season a success despite lack of snow

April 11, 2018 — We'll long remember the ski season that was. It just won't be the way we'd hoped back in November, when we envisioned a follow-up to the record-setting 2016-2017 season that was filled with too many major snowstorms to count. Instead, we'll remember it as one

Learn more »

Amy Roberts: Rainy days are reminders of my unmindfulness

April 11, 2018 — In the 1980s the Army came out with an ad campaign depicting soldiers loading into an airplane before sunrise, checking their riggings, jumping out of the plane, setting up their gear on the ground, then piling into a tank. As the sun begins to rise,

Learn more »