Park City Ski Team holds annual awards banquet |

Park City Ski Team holds annual awards banquet

Youth skiers recognized for a successful year

The 2016-2017 Park City Ski Team racing season was filled with exciting moments that were re-lived among a crowd of 400 people on Friday night April 21st at The Chateaux Deer Valley. It was an evening to acknowledge the athletic and academic achievements of the Park City Ski Team as well as those individuals who have contributed to the success of the team.

Overall Program Awards

Skier of the Year: Claire Thomas
Cathy Swing Award: Lily Hogan
David Wright Award: Dominik Brazerol
Eagle Award: O.C. Tanner
Friends of the Park City Ski Team Award: Swire Coca-Cola, USA
Newspaper Award: Heidi Voelker Brennwald
John DeBaun Spirit Award: Krista & Matt Dana
House Cup Award – Winning PCST Club Race Team: Justin Bigatel, Alyssa Gorsch, Fiona Sawyer, Stein Witt, Teo Sorrentino & Winston Tang

Academic Excellence (top GPA, Grades 6-12)
6th Grade – Phebe Marsland, Lena Polster, Sonnie Travis, Lillie Walden, Michael Grossniklaus, Dominik Jamrich (all 4.00)
7th Grade – Cole Potter, Lindsey Aten, Carina Cooke, Amber Howard, Madison Kaiserman, Ava Kelly, Amelia Walden, Jenevieve Witham, Jack AbuHaidar, Jack Allison, Espen Hunt, Bjorn Karlen, John Tiranno, Thomas Vandenberg (all 4.00)
8th Grade – Drew Neff (4.00)
9th Grade – Rebekah Brain, Caroline Haaijer, Hailey Hunt, Sky Jalili, Lauren Macuga, Philippa Townshend,
Andrew Hoggan, Cooper Iacobelli, Tasia Tanner (both 4.00)
10th Grade – Maxine Dalton, Heidi Hathorne, Brynne Hitchcock, Sydney Weaver (all 4.00)
11th Grade – Bridey Bush, Niclas Carlson (all 4.00)
12th Grade – Julia Chahine, Cassidy Butt, Ava Lewin, Charlotte Townshend (4.00)

Devo Team Highlights- This energetic, spirited group of 33 nine- and 10-year-olds, enjoyed some great all mountain skiing mixed with training and racing at the YSL and South Series races. All Devos are presented with a recognition award in addition to awards in the following specific categories.

Perfect Attendance: Talise Larsh, Ashland Stein
Devos of the Year: Sierra Scanlon, Finlay Henderson
Coaches Appreciation: Sonja Preston, Ted O’Brien, Teo Sorrentino
The Road Furthest Traveled: Mariah Rodrigues, Braden Jones

U12 (Ages 10-11) – Highlights:
Top Performers: Skyler Sheppard, Daniel Macuga
Most Improved: Greta Goldsmith, Gabriel Sullivan
Sportsmanship: Lillie Walden, Jay Sykes
Hard Charger: Annika Hunt, Griffen Rogers

U14 (Ages 12-13) Highlights:
Top Performer: Alyssa Gorsch, Leyton Sheppard
Most Improved: Carina Cooke, Tyler Young
Hardest Charger: Lindsey Aten, Justin Bigatel
Sportsmanship: Maren Elvidge, Alex Dobrovinsky
Team Values: Fiona Sawyer

U16 (Ages 14-15) Highlights-
Top performer: Brynne Hitchcock, Max Miller
Most Improved: Caroline Haaijer
Conditioning: Anna Grossniklaus, Delany Tyon
Sportsmanship: Lauren Macuga, Luc Dalton
Coach’s Award: Ella Dingman

FIS Women (Ages 17-20) Highlights
Most Improved: Alyssa McCulloch
WRJC Award: Charlotte Townshend

FIS Men (Ages 17-20) Highlights
Top Performer: Dominik Brazerol
Most Improved: Ben Lawson
Hard Charger: Scottie McGrath

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Park City and Summit County make the Park Record's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more