Summit Ski Team honors athletes |

Summit Ski Team honors athletes

Submitted by Summit Ski Team,

Last Sunday evening, Summit Ski Team athletes and their families filled the Kokopelli Ball Room at Canyons Resort for the annual end of year awards banquet. After a great dinner, catered by the Canyons Vail Resorts banquet crew, athletes and families started the evening off with a high-energy, rocked-out slideshow that included highlights and events throughout the season. The slideshow was presented by Christian Meyre, an SST board member.

Program Director Matt Brown wrapped the season up by addressing the SST athletes, families, board members and community members, reflecting on the club’s achievements and milestones over the last several years. Brown spoke to the importance of how family contribution has helped grow the culture of the program in a family-friendly environment and said each of the athletes had hit the podium many times over the year with ongoing dedication, support and volunteerism — "simply the Summit Ski Team way."

Brown also mentioned that SST’s membership is healthy and vibrant with 130 kids participating in all age groups from U8 through U21 within the United States Ski and Snowboard Association’s system. Summit Ski Team also started a Skimeister program for those all-mountain enthusiasts, which has kept families inside the program to help drive the love for skiing and a healthy outdoor life.

Mike Goar was recognized for his support of the team over the years. Mike has given his ongoing support by making Canyons Resort Summit Ski Team’s home mountain.

USSA’s Tiger Shaw was mentioned with a quote from this year’s Intermountain Championships banquet, saying "Remember, the most important part of ski racing is fun, family and friends. It’s important to do your best, but at the end of the day you will remember the fun more than the podiums."

Awards were presented to athletes, board members and community members. A few highlights were:

Recommended Stories For You

Bill McGrath Community Award

The Park City Youth Sports Alliance received the Bill McGrath Community Award for its ongoing support of winter sports clubs and to the Summit Ski Team. The award is in honor of the late Bill McGrath and how much he loved Summit Ski Team and the work he did to make Summit Ski Team an important part of the Park City Community. The award has been established to remind the team each year of the great work Bill did, as well as honor a community partner who continues to support SST.

Summit Ski Team Service Award

Susan Hamblin received the SST Service Award for outstanding service to the team. Susan sits on SST’s board of directors as the fundraising chair and has put in countless hours and miles in benefit of the Summit Ski Team.

Also mentioned for Outstanding Service to the team were Dean Heavrin and Lars Friberg, for their passion and hard work keeping the Canyons race area in top-notch shape, which made for an outstanding training environment.

Pete Dunmire Volunteer of the Year Award

Pete Dunmire received the newly named Volunteer of the Year award. After all these years, Pete will be taking some time off for himself. With this announcement, there was nothing more fitting than naming the Volunteer of the Year award after Pete. Pete, along with Bill McGrath, crafted SST into what it is today. Pete served as the president of the SST Board of Directors for many years and in many other roles, including the club’s administrator and race admin person.

Brown ended this year’s wrap-up before handing the microphone over to his coaches by making sure the kids and the families knew how important the coaches’ roles are and recognizing their passion for the sport and their willingness to give back. He asked the kids to be sure to thank their coaches for all the extra work and attention they give to each and every athlete and the lessons they learn each day from their coaches.

This year’s coaching staff included Taylor Guetschow, Arsen Harutyunyan, Thad McGowan, Jenny Lee Swallow, Sarah Warren, Michael Turner, Jeremy Jacob, Grace Brown, Brian Holmen, Molly Clarke, Kurt Almond, Brian Holmen, Dave Rosen, Kalie Brenick, Andria Donegan, Sarah Morrison, Ali Sibly, Laurel Van’t Hof, Anne Wallace and Dave Rosen.

Summit Ski Team Top Performers

U16-18 — Sydney Weaver

U14 — Zachary Harlow

U12 — Annika Drivdahl, Jake Stocker

U10 — Wynter Probert

Comp Dev — Kyra Larson, Sutter Plavocos