World Cup speedskating teams chosen |

World Cup speedskating teams chosen

Submitted by US Speedskating,

US Speedskating announced its 2015-16 Short Track Fall World Cup roster following an action-packed weekend at Milwaukee’s Pettit National Ice Center last weekend. Six men and six women earned roster spots for the first two ISU Short Track World Cups Oct. 30-Nov. 1 in Montreal and on Nov. 6-8 in Toronto.

"It was an impressive start of the season for the short track team," said High Performance Director Guy Thibault. "The staff at Pettit National Ice Center was able to deliver a quality meet which allowed some of our best short track skaters to show their true abilities."

Jessica Smith-Kooreman (Melvindale, Mich.), a 2014 Olympian, paved the way for all racers over the weekend, sweeping all four events and finishing as the leading point-getter in the first race of the American Cup series.

"Jessica continued her strong leadership sweeping all of the events this weekend," said Short Track National Team Head Coach Jonathon Cavar. "With her performances and her experience, she showed us why she is the leader of the women’s team."

On the men’s side, three-time Olympic medalist J.R. Celski (Federal Way, Wash.) and World Cup gold medalist John-Henry Krueger (Pittsburgh) each earned a pair of wins.

"We have a very complete men’s team from top to bottom, filled with experience and overall skill," said Cavar. "They’re going to be poised and competitive on the international stage through the season."

The US Speedskating Short Track Fall World Cup teams were selected using the American Cup 1 results.

Short Track Fall World Cup Teams


Keith Carroll Jr.

J.R. Celski

Thomas Hong

Cole Krueger

John-Henry Krueger

Aaron Tran


Lexi Burkholder

Kimi Goetz

Katy Ralston

Kristen Santos

Jessica Smith-Kooreman

Jerebelle Yutangco

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.


See more